The Lafayette Room
The Mitchell Room
Named after Dr. Abraham Mitchell, who built the original "Granite House" in 1781. During the Revolutionary War, he converted his home in Elkton, Maryland into a hospital for the Continental Army. His son, Colonel George E. Mitchell, a 4-term Maryland congressman and hero in the War of 1812, lived here until his death in 1832.
The Marquis de Lafayette was a friend to both Dr. Abraham Mitchell and his son, Colonel George E. Mitchell. In 1824, George E. Mitchell spent much time with the Marquis during his U.S. tour. In fact, Lafayette's invitation to the United States, on behalf of Congress, was penned by Mitchell. Lafayette sent the gift of cherry trees to Mitchell and in return, Mitchell sent corn from Fair Hill to Lafayette, where it was planted at his family home, La Grange.
Named after Henry Hess who bought the Mitchell House in 1861 and ran it as a tavern.
The stone room boasts a massive crossbeam over a fire place, the width of the room. With old iron pots hanging from a hand-forge pivoting iron arm, one can imagine how it might have been to create meals during Colonial times. There is a beautiful wooden staircase with beeswax coiled candles, extending upward . This room is truly rustic. The candlelight makes it very cozy and romantic.
Hess' Tavern Room
The Stone Room
The Fair Hill Inn is a beautifully restored 18th Century house with a rich history.
We welcome you to enjoy a memorable dinner in one the the four unique and wonderful dining rooms.